Nigerian universities2Nigerian universities and its higher education system aims to further develop, sustain, and advance the skills and leadership of Nigeria’s next generations through a strong, world-class, higher education sector in Nigeria. In pursuit of a strong higher education sector, NHEF collaborates with Nigerian universities, and provides local and global resources.

Nigerian Universities Outlook

Nigeria’s government is working toward a future in which Nigerian universities develop the best global scholars and leaders of the 21st century, building a prosperous and thriving Nigeria and a better world.

University of Lagos

Nigerian universitiesFounded in 1962, the University of Lagos has, for over 5 decades, provided qualitative and research-oriented education to Nigerians and all those who have entered its domain in search of knowledge. At its inception, the University of Lagos was empowered to produce a professional workforce that would steer the political, social and economic development of a newly independent country.

View the University of Lagos website

Obafemi Awolowo University

Nigerian universitiesThe Obafemi Awolowo University is a comprehensive public institution established in 1962 as The University of Ife. The University is situated on a vast expanse of land totaling 11,861 hectares in Ile-Ife, Osun State, southwest of Nigeria. The University comprises the central campus, the student residential area, the staff quarters and a Teaching  and Research Farm.


View the Obafemi Awolowo University website

University of Nigeria

Nigerian universitiesThe University of Nigeria strives to place the university in the forefront of Research and development, Innovation, Knowledge Transfer and Human Resource Development in the global academic terrain, while promoting the core values which will ensure the restoration of the dignity of man.


View the University of Nigeria website

Federal University of Technology, Minna

Nigerian universitiesThe Federal University of Technology, Minna is a Federal Government owned University in Nigeria. It was established on 1st February, 1983. The objective for its establishment is to give effect to the Nation’s drive for the much-needed self-reliance in Science, Engineering and especially Technology. It is a specialized University of Technology.

View the Federal University of Technology, Minna website

University of Port Harcourt

Nigerian universitiesThe University of Port Harcourt aims to be ranked amongst the best universities in Africa, renowned for its teaching, research, creativity and innovation. The Philosophy of the University of Port Harcourt is: commitment to academic freedom, tolerance, probity, equal opportunity and respect for cultural diversity.


View the University of Port Harcourt website

University of Agriculture, Abeokuta

Nigerian universitiesThe Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State (FUNAAB) was established on January 1, 1988 by the Federal Government when four Universities of Technology, earlier merged in 1984, were demerged. This led to the creation of the first two Universities of Agriculture in Abeokuta and Makurdi.  Five Colleges comprise the University:

* College of Agricultural Management, Rural Development and Studies (COLAMRUCS)
* College of Animal Science and Livestock Production (COLANIM)
* College of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM)
* College of Natural Sciences (COLNAS)
* College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT)


View the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta website