Niger Universities & Higher Education


Education in Niger like that of other developing nations, particularly in the Sahelian region of Africa, faces challenges from poverty and poor access to schools. Niger universities and higher education is organized as such- Higher education: University – License (3 years), Masters (2 years), Doctorate (3 years). Technical Institutes: DUT (University Technical Diploma (French) (2 years).


Niger universities

There are five universities in Niger. The first and biggest, the Abdou Moumouni University in Niamey was founded as the University of Niamey in 1974. The Islamic University of Niger in Say was opened in 1986. In 2008, two public universities, the University of Zinder in Zinder and University of Maradi in Maradi were created. In 2010, the University of Tahoua was created in Tahoua. In 2014, it was announced that four additional universities will be created in Agadez, Diffa, Dosso and Tillaberi.

Abdou Moumouni University

Niger universitiesAbdou Moumouni University, formerly University of Niamey from 1974-1994, is the only public university in Niger and is thus directly controlled by the Ministry of Education. Located on the right bank of the Niger River in Niamey, its students and faculty have historically been involved in protest movements in the capital.


View the Abdou Moumouni University website

Islamic University of Niger

Niger universitiesThe Islamic University of Niger is an Islamic university based in Say, Niger. The University’s Vice-Chancellor’s office is in Niamey and the faculties include: Faculty of Shari’a and Islamic Studies; Faculty of Arabic Language and Literature; Institute of Higher Education, Pedagogy and Teachers Training; African Centre for the Revalorization of the Islamic Heritage; “IQRA” Centre for Technical and Vocational Training; Section of Postgraduate Studies; and Women Collage for Islamic Studies and Arabic Language.


View the Islamic University of Niger website